Learn Angular and JavaScript

My upcoming project is being developed with a client-side framework called AngularJS. It is currently rather popular partly through the popularity of the Singe Page Application model. (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Single-page_application)

The backend relies on ASP.NET built using C#, but AngularJS is new for me so it calls for a course.

However AngularJS works with JavaScript and not with C#, and during my day-to-day work in ASP .NET MVC I use JavaScript very little.

Now and again I do something small using jQuery but I cannot do much more than the very basics.
Therefore at the top of my list was: improve my knowledge of JavaScript.

At Code School (Codeschool.com) I found a good course and I started it with much enthusiasm.
The course consists of 4 parts: 3 modules of basic knowledge and 1 of “best practices”.
Starting with Part 1 I quickly got the feeling that my lack of knowledge wasn’t as bad as I had thought. Basic knowledge about variables, scoping, concatenation and use in HTML were explained , things I already knew.

Confidently I moved to Part 2: for and while loops, prompt and confirm, if-else, functions and the array: a couple of refreshers but mainly knowledge I already have.
I was already half way through the course: actually my knowledge of JavaScript wasn’t too bad!

On to Part 3: Where things start to get a bit tougher.
Function expressions (good to know), closures, (“so closures work like this” and “oh, so that can go wrong”), hoisting (wow, I’d never thought about it), objects (object literals, I felt just like a real JavaScript programmer with objects) and finally classes, constructors and prototypes.

This last section on how to work with objects in JavaScript in particular was very educational.
At that moment I felt a little more familiar with JavaScript. The good thing about the course is that not only do you get taught theory but between the videos you can type out things to see whether you have understood. In my case that last part was very educational: If you watch a video containing theory then anything quickly begins to sound logical, but if you start coding yourself then the think tank really gets started.

And finally: JavaScript best practices
To round off the course there is a long list of topics that show the difference between good and bad code and finally a nice final exercise about numbers in JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

